Please Sponsor Me In The Brighton Marathon

Spear LondonHello Twickenham. Here’s a request that’s a bit different from the usual twickerati nonsense. I’m after your money. Not for me you understand but for SPEAR, the Twickenham based charity helping homeless people in the area. I’m running in the Brighton Marathon on Sunday 17th April and any donation you can make to SPEAR will be very much appreciated. With less than a week to go there’s no time like the present to act so why not read on then immediately click on the link to donate via the twickerati JustGiving page. Yes, do it right now please.

What & why?
Apart from doing things like having a day job and updating twickerati with Twickenham related stuff, I also do a bit of running from time to time. 5k, 10k, 10 miles and more, but one thing has been missing – a full marathon. And that’s why I’m running Brighton. 26.2 miles is a long way. A bloody long way. Apparently, it’s twice the distance of a half marathon! It’s going to be hard, it could take a while, my knees and ankles are going to hate me more than they do already, but it will be worth it if I can raise money for an excellent local cause too.

Who?
I am raising funds for SPEAR, a charity based in central Twickenham. If you live locally you’ve probably heard of it. Its mission is to enable homeless people in South and West London to find secure accommodation and work towards a positive future.

If you enjoy reading twickerati whether on the blog, Twitter or Facebook then I’d be hugely grateful if you could make a donation to SPEAR to help it with its important work with vulnerable people. Any donation, however large or small, would mean a lot to me but it will mean much more to them. Thank you very much. Russell

 

UPDATE 18 APRIL 2016:

Thanks so much for all your donations, you have helped raise over £1,000 for Spear. Both Spear and I really appreciate it. The money will be put to good use tackling homelessness in our part of London. As for the run, I reached my ‘best case’ target time of 3h 45m thanks to a bit of preparation, fantastic support along the route and the knowledge that I was running for a good cause. Thank you all again. Russell

Sorry about the photo, the staff photographer was having an off day but you get the idea.

 

Did it!

Did it!

 

LINK:
* DONATE: twickerati JustGiving page for SPEAR
* More about SPEAR

ice-cream-van-twickenham-twickerati

P.S. If you are an actual friend of mine (and for the avoidance of doubt I like to think I have at least three, maybe four at a push) I also have a personal JustGiving page for exactly the same thing in case you’d prefer to sponsor me there.
P.P.S. And if you’re wondering why I have not asked for sponsorship earlier, my propensity to accrue minor sporting injuries has put me off doing that until now.

5 Comments

Filed under Local Issues & News, Random Stuff

5 responses to “Please Sponsor Me In The Brighton Marathon

  1. twickerati

    UPDATE 18 APRIL 2016:

    Thanks so much for all your donations, you have helped raise over £1,000 for Spear. Both Spear and I really appreciate it. The money will be put to good use tackling homelessness in our part of London.

    As for the run, I reached my ‘best case’ target time of 3h 45m thanks to a bit of preparation, fantastic support along the route and the knowledge that I was running for a good cause. Thank you all again. Russell

  2. Thank you Twickenham. Over £1,000 raised from twickerati readers for SPEAR. Brilliant stuff!

  3. Sally

    Excellent cause, shall do. Mind your knees!

  4. mke hine

    Great way of thanking you for all you do servicing the needs of the Twickeratisphere, Russell.